TalkDomains.com - Discuss, Buy and Sell Domain Names
 
General Domain Names Discussion General discussion about domains and domain names industry. Discuss latest news. Industry announcements and press releases are welcome.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2006, 07:33 AM
Timbo Timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Default Is this a scam?

I got an email today, it went like this:

Hello,

Please send me price for your domain.

We are very interested in this name.

Did you get offers from other people already?

Our company develops client-server systems (Delphi / Interbase), so investing in domain names is not my main business.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Best regards,
Masafumi Herosuki, Ph. D.
President
Opera Solutions Ltd.

What do you make of this guys??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2006, 11:56 AM
Klaas Koopman Klaas Koopman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Well Opera Solutions Ltd... sounds quite big?

I'd say reply to them with a high price and see if they reply. If they don't, mark them scam!
__________________
Visit my portfolio at: Koopman Media
Great Webmaster Resource: Webmasters Palace
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-01-2006, 07:10 PM
Clark056 Clark056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 80
Default

I'd say it's a scam, since he can't write very well but apparently has a PhD. I'd beware for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2006, 01:56 AM
Homer Homer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Default

Definitely a scam.

What they do is appraise the domain then scam you. im not sure how the whole process works, but it happens to alot of people.
Go here for a list of possible situations:
http://www.sean.co.uk/a/webdesign/domainnames.shtm
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2006, 02:00 AM
Timbo Timbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaas Koopman
Well Opera Solutions Ltd... sounds quite big?

I'd say reply to them with a high price and see if they reply. If they don't, mark them scam!
Im not going to reply. Im sure that will tell them that Im alive and got their email..
Yes their name sounds big but Im quite sure its a scam
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Main Kinds of Domain Registration Scams ArtPark General Domain Names Discussion 6 09-15-2006 06:36 AM



 
©2006 TalkDomains.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24